Alright I just CALLED Trader Joe’s corporate about product information on this new “Cookie Butter” that everyone has been raving about. Why? Because it has Lactic Acid, this can normally come from milk. They said the Lactic Acid in it IS from potato. BAD NEWS THOUGH. When asked about the “Candy Sugar” she said that YES it is refined sugar with animal bone! TRADER JOES COOKIE BUTTER IS NOT VEGAN, PLEASE VEGANS I URGE YOU TO STOP EATING IF YOU HAVE STARTED!!! I remember back in the day that all of the sugar from Trader Joe’s was vegan, now they don’t keep track of these things anymore, so when the sugar isn’t specified (Example: Beet sugar, organic cane sugar..etc) it can be refined with animal bone. When asked about the products that SAY vegan on them she said that all of the sugar that isn’t specified in the vegan products are refined but not through the processes in which they use animal bone.
So I guess if you follow the PETA guidelines of (Which means you’re not really vegan, just a very strict vegetarian. Honestly) veganism and still eat animal by-products then I guess you’re fine. But if you do care about this and are trully vegan then PLEASE STOP EATING TRADER JOE’S COOKIE BUTTER!!!
If you really want this product to be vegan then call this number626-599-3700, it is their corporate number. Ask for them to change the candy sugar and make this product vegan!!!